Continuing the excellent tradition started at OCIS 2016 as well as some new additions to OCIS 2020, scholars based in the Oceania region – from PhD candidates to established  professors – will have the opportunity to submit their work for the following book and paper prizes.

  • The Oceania Book Prize for International Studies
  • Best Paper Prize for PhD Students

Please review the details below, prior to submission.

The Oceania Book Prize for International Studies

The Oceania Book Prize for International Studies will be awarded for the first time in 2020. The prize is offered by the Organising Committee of the Oceanic Conference on International Studies (OCIS) for the best book on international studies, broadly conceived, published during the previous TWO (2) years.

The prize is sponsored by the Australian Institute of International Affairs (AIIA).

Conditions of entry

  • The author’s primary institution must be located in the Oceanic region (Australia, New Zealand, and Pacific Island countries). In the case of jointly-authored works, at least one author must meet this criterion.
  • The monograph may be single- or jointly-authored, but edited books are not eligible.
  • The book must have been published by a university or commercial publisher in the preceding two years. For the 2020 prize, this means a publication date of 2018 or 2019.
  • Authors, publishers, or others may nominate a book for the prize.
  • THREE (3) hard copies of the book must be submitted to the  THREE (3) Award Committee Members as detailed below.
  • The OCIS Organising Committee reserves the right not to award the prize in any given year.
  • The winner will be invited to OCIS 2020 and receive a monetary award of AU$1,000. Conference registration fee will be waived, however travel and accommodation will not be covered.


The closing date for receipt of entries is 21 February 2020. Books received after the deadline will not be considered.

Application process

A cover letter and ONE (1) copy of the nominated book should be posted to the THREE (3) addresses below.
Please also send the cover letter by email to paul.kenny@anu.edu.au so that we are aware of your intent to apply.

Address 1:
Associate Professor Paul Kenny
Coral Bell School of Asia Pacific Affairs
Room 4.09 Hedley Bull Building #130
Corner of Garran Rd and Liversidge Street
The Australian National University
Acton, ACT 2601, Australia


Address 2:
Alexandre Debs
c/o Mr Daniel Yeo
Division of Social Sciences – Dean of Faculty
Yale-NUS College
16 College Avenue West #03-220
Singapore 138527


Address 3:
Dr Emma Hutchison
School of Political Science and International Studies
The University of Queensland
St Lucia, QLD 4072, Australia



The ‘Oceania Book Prize for International Studies’ Committee for 2020 is Associate Professor Paul Kenny (The Australian National University, Chair), Associate Professor Alexandre Debs (Yale University), and Dr Emma Hutchison (University of Queensland).

Best Paper Prize for PhD Students

A prize will be awarded for the best paper presented at OCIS 2020 by a PhD student. To be considered, the paper must meet the following criterion.

Conditions of entry

  • On acceptance for the OCIS conference, the full paper must be submitted to the PhD Paper Prize Committee two weeks prior to the conference (no later than 15 June 2020)
  • The paper must be single-authored
  • The student must be enrolled in a PhD program at the time of the conference.
  • Papers making empirical and/or theoretical contributions will be considered, and will be judged on their professional quality and original contributions to knowledge
  • Papers submitted for consideration should be between 8,000 and 13,000 words, including all elements
  • The prize nominee will be required to provide proof of student status before the award will be made


The closing date for receipt of entries is 15 June 2020.

Application process

Please submit your paper as an email attachment in pdf format to OCIS2020@anu.edu.au


The OCIS 2020 ‘Best PhD Paper Prize for PhD Students’ Committee is Professor Benjamin Goldsmith (The Australian National University, Chair), Associate Professor David Capie (Victoria University of Wellington), Dr Michael Cohen (The Australian National University), and Dr Amy King (The Australian National University).

For enquiries please email: